Peanut Butter Cookie Whoopie Pie

So, here I am with another whoopie pie recipe except this one is a little different, it’s a cookie whoopie pie sandwich, not cake. Can you already imagine how yummy that would be, so what if I told you it was Peanut Butter flavoured. Some of you will be filled with joy and some of you will have dismissed this idea. I am a firm believer that all peanut butter flavoured confections are truly divine and am yet to find something which I will turn my nose up at. So if you’re like me, a peanut butter lover you’ve got to give this recipe a go.

Peanut butter is one of those magical ingredients which you can’t really go wrong with, in my eyes. It’s velvety texture and stark flavour just lingers on in your mouth with that slightly salty edge. Yummy…

So this recipe once again was one that I found from the Whoopie Pie Book by Claire Ptak but changed some measurements slightly, it makes 7 sandwiches, you can vary the sizes, so make some larger and some smaller but the average size of mine were around 5cm in diameter. These biscuits, unlike the red velvet cakes don’t really expand and so once you scoop the batter on the tray, flatten it down so they are wider rather than tall in height.

Ingredients

60g plain flour

1/4tsp bicarbonate of soda

Pinch of salt

75 butter, softened

65g light brown sugar

1/3 large egg

1/3 large egg yolk

65 crunchy peanut butter

1/3 tsp vanilla extract

Method

Preheat the oven to Gas Mark 4/180 degrees Celsius. Line two large trays with baking parchment.

Sift together the flour, bicarbonate of soda and salt twice into a small bowl.

In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar until fully incorporated and fluffy.

In a separate small bowl, light beat the eggs with the vanilla extract. Pour this into the butter mixture and then tip in the dry ingredients, (flour mixture) in 3 batches. Chill this in the fridge for 45 minutes.

Scoop out the mixture into 14 dollops (I used a tablespoon sized amount), press down so 1cm in height. Bake in the oven for 14 minutes. Remove and transfer to a wire rack.

To make the peanut butter cream filling

Ingredients

43g butter

49g crunchy peanut butter

47g icing sugar, sifted

1 drop vanilla extract

Method

Using an electric whisk beat together the butter and icing sugar. Pour in the icing sugar slowly to create a softer and lighter texture. Then, whisk in the peanut butter and once it’s whipped and fluffy, add in that little bit of vanilla extract and you’ll be done. Simple spread on one half of a cookie and sandwich.

Take a bite, you’ll know why I love it…

24 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Cookie Whoopie Pie

  1. I just want to tell you that I am just all new to blogging and site-building and seriously loved this page. Probably I’m planning to bookmark your site . You absolutely come with perfect articles and reviews. Thanks a lot for sharing your web-site.

  2. I and also my guys appeared to be following the best secrets on your web page and before long developed a horrible feeling I never thanked the site owner for those secrets. Most of the boys ended up certainly glad to learn all of them and have in effect definitely been tapping into these things. Appreciate your indeed being simply considerate as well as for considering these kinds of exceptional subjects most people are really desirous to learn about. Our own sincere regret for not saying thanks to you earlier.

  3. 888365 267180Superb read, I lately passed this onto a colleague who has been performing a bit research on that. And the man truly bought me lunch because I came across it for him smile So allow me to rephrase that: Appreciate your lunch! 606717

  4. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this outstanding blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about this blog with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

Leave a comment