Banoffee Pie

Hi there readers, just wanted firstly to thank all those people who take the time to comment on my posts and that I’m sorry I don’t always reply back because sometimes I don’t have enough time but hopefully these recipes will make up for it šŸ˜€ This post it on Banoffee Pie, one of my favourite creations on the planet, hence why I asked my mum to make it as my birthday cake (my birthday was on Monday, so that’s why I haven’t been on!) and is definitely for the sweet toothed. If you adore bananas, love caramel and can’t get enough of cream and biscuits then this you’ve got to love!!!

A slice of banoffee pie, really yummy although this picture doesn't really depict it...

BanoffeeĀ pie, like a cheesecake has a biscuit base most often made from crushed digestives (it’s most often these because they’re easy to crush and form a smooth base and not become to hard when refrigerated and still taste yummy) with a layer of sliced bananas, smothering of caramel and then topped with a cloud of whipped cream. I’d say mountain so it sounds nicer but we don’t put that much, and the thought of cream can put a lot of people off šŸ˜€

My mum based the recipe upon Lorraine Pascale’s book Baking Made Easy. I absolutely love this book because it has such nice recipes, comforting ones, pick me ups, time pressured and when you want to treat yourself. I also always watch her tv series, recently she did a Home Cooking made easy and the foods she cooked looked very inviting… Anyway, mum changed a few things, making the base thicker because I can’t get enough of the biscuit base, chocolate digestivesĀ instead of regular digestives because I wanted to see how it would taste, no cooking of the bananasĀ and instead of using condensed milk and making the caramel, just bought a pre-made tin.

A 23 cm diameter circular cake tin was used and needs no cooking time but does need time to set and chill in the refrigerator. In my opinion, this dessert is at its best when cold…

Ingredients

15 chocolate digestive biscuits

140 unsalted butter, melted and cooled

3 bananas, sliced in whatever thickness you want bearing in mind not too thick as then you’ll have a tall layer

A tin of pre-made caramel (approximately 400g, you can go for less rather than more as it just means that it’s not as sticky)

300ml whipping cream

Method

1. Crush the biscuits until they are all fine crumbs, then mix in the butter, this should now become a wet sand stage, it’s crucial for there to be enough butter as it’s what merges the biscuits together and to stay as a base.

2. Press the biscuit mix into the tin, tight enough so it won’t crumble apart but not so tight that it’ll become rock hard when chilled. Chill in the fridge for 30 mins.

3. Place the sliced bananas onto the biscuit base so that it is completely covered, then pour over the caramel. (Or you can pour the caramel first and then top it with the bananas). Now the shiny coat is complete, time for the cream…

4. Using an electric whisk, whip up the cream until stiff and dollop over the caramel and bananas. Smooth out and voila…made to perfection. Lorraine Pascale says to chill for 30 mins before serving but I’d say longer, maybe an hour or two…

Yummy enjoy, cut a large slice because this is one large slice of heaven, I’ll try to upload an image tomorrow cos something’ funny is going on… šŸ˜€

Leave a comment